Vinegar & Honey

Yesterday I had an interesting conversation with my one of my bestest (i know that’s not a word lol) friends and we talked about the Kim Burrell controversy. I had seen that many people posted about this on FB, all different views and contexts, but I didn’t click on any of them. I only had one question: if Ms Burrell was so convicted to go on Ellen’s show, why did she? My friend said that maybe she had been going through something because her speech was so laced with anger. I still stood by my question, then why go on the show? We ended up in deep convo about Christians being so vocal and being selectively judgmental. When is the line crossed  between “casting the first stone” and being totally tolerant of all sin? In Matthew 7:1 AMP , it states “Do not judge and criticize and condemn [others unfairly with an attitude of self-righteous superiority as though assuming the office of a judge], so that you will not be judged [unfairly]”. Those who sided with her said she had a right to talk about homosexuality in the church and others said she should’ve talked about all sin,while others said how her delivery was presented was the problem. SO, if Jesus didn’t point fingers at people(unless He was provoked by those trying to prove Him wrong), then what gave her or any other the right to point fingers? Was she provoked? In the same chapter of Matthew 7:2 AMP, it goes on to say “For just as you [hypocritically] judge others [when you are sinful and unrepentant], so will you be judged; and in accordance with your standard of measure [used to pass out judgment], judgment will be measured to you”. I heard she lost her podcast show and is going through it now so it seems?  As Christians, it is written we are to love one another and pray that’s all we can do. We can’t go around dousing folks with vinegar and expect them to say “can I have some more?”  I do respect that her view wasn’t lukewarm, it’s her conviction; but, anger shouldn’t be the driver of such conviction. Or am I wrong?

One comment

Leave a Reply

